Welcome

Dealing with guilt and shame around age regression

Occassionaly we all will deal with some shame around age regression. It is a competely normal feeling, I promise! I have made a lot of efforts in my life to unmask, but there are still times I have set backs. These are a few things I try when I am struggling, and I wanted to share.

🐸 Write it out! I have a "worry" journal. I set a 15 minute timer for myself and just let myself write whatever has been bothering me. After the 15 minutes is over I close the journal and throw it across my room.

🐌 You could also write a letter to someone talking about your feelings. This doesn't mean you have to give them that letter!! Sometimes it is soothing to write to someone who hurt you and then rip it up into tiny little pieces afterwards. You can also write positive letters too! :) If you have a CG you could write them a letter telling them how much you appreacite them. Or you could write a letter to from little you to big you or vica versa.

🐸 Positive affirmations! I keep a sticky note on my chore chart of a few affirmations I can say to myself when I am worked up. This can be as simple as a reminder to breath or you can make them agere specific. "I am allowed to regress in a way that makes me feel safe" is an exampe.

🐌 Meditation/Mindfulness or even yoga. You can do ones that are made for kids if it helps! There are also kids toys that are geared at helping little ones slow down and take some deep breaths. My Furby has a relax mode where he guides me to do some breathing. It is both silly and relaxing enough to distract my brain for a little bit.

If you have one, ask your CG to write you a letter you can read when you are dealing with tough emotions. If you have a fictional CG you can write yourself a note pretending to be them! There are also people out there who will write you letters from your CG. Even if you don't have a CG, you can write a letter to yourself. When you are feeling big, write a letter of all the kind things you wish you could say to little you.

🐌 Age regression can be part of a healthy coping toolbox. You are not doing anything wrong by regressing. It is okay to regress. It is okay to take time for you. It is okay to do something that is just for your own happiness.

🐸 You are allowed to take up space. You are allowed to be messy and noisy and playful. You deserve love and care. You deserve to have your needs met. I'm sorry others in your life let you down and made you feel this way. But it will be okay, and we can heal together, I promi.

🐌 Remember; it is okay to take a break from voluntary regression for any reason. Your stuffies and dollies will understand and they will be there for you when you return. β™₯️

As a final reminder, if you are still struggling with guilt and shame, don't be afraid to reach out and talk to someone. I know it doesn't always feel like it, but there are people out there who want to help you. It might be worth bringing these feelings up with a trusted friend, a counselor, or therapist. You don't have to mention age regression if you do't feel comfortable to yet! An option is to talk about feeling guilt taking care of yourself, or shame in personal interests. Again, these are feeling almost everyone has at some point of their lives, not just regressors.

Β©repth